Untitled document


  • Hundreds of Chicago area undergraduates present their research at CAURS each year.
  • CAURS takes place each year at beautiful venues like Chicago's Museum of Science and Industry.
  • CAURS is generously supported by our seven sponsor institutions and numerous corporate donors.
  • The Symposium concludes with an awards ceremony to recognize distinguished student presentations.
  • The Symposium runs smoothly thanks to our team of undergraduate Board members and volunteers.
  • Industry and graduate school representatives host roundtable talks with students during lunch.

The Chicago Area Undergraduate Research Symposium (CAURS) is one of the largest annual undergraduate research conferences in the country, bringing together hundreds of undergraduate students in the Chicagoland area from all academic disciplines to present their research. Through poster presentations, oral presentations, and roundtable discussions, attendees experience the impressive breadth and depth of research being conducted by their peers and have the opportunity to network with other undergraduates, graduate students, faculty, and representatives from industry and graduate and professional schools.

This year's Symposium will be held on Saturday, April 9th, at the Museum of Science and Industry.

2015 Awards

Top Poster Presentation
Benjamin Bernstein, Northwestern University

Top Oral Presentation
Brandon Rayhaun, University of Chicago

Top Presenters from Each Sponsor Institution
The University of Chicago: Anne Krok, Biological Sciences
Illinois Institute of Technology: Jaya Parulekar, Tech
DePaul University: Jack O'Brien and Yvita Bustos, Social Sciences
Loyola University Chicago: Kushal Bakshi, Biological Sciences
Northwestern University: Benjamin Bernstein, Social Sciences
University of Illinois at Chicago: Navika Shukla, Biological Sciences
Calumet College of St. Joseph: Logan Cole, Chemistry

Honorable Mentions from Each Discipline
Biological Sciences: Elizabeth Woo, University of Chicago, Joseph Hurley, Northwestern University, & Jenna Bekeny, University of Chicago
Chemistry: Kevin Zhao, Northwestern University & Charles Schurman, Northwestern University
Physical and Geophysical Sciences (Physics and Environmental Sciences): Nicole Minalt, Loyola University Chicago
Humanities and Fine Arts: Kirsten Lopez, DePaul University
Social Sciences (Anthropology, Psychology, Sociology, and Social Justice): Danielle Labotka, University of Chicago & Danbee Chon, Northwestern University
Tech (Computer Science, Math, and Engineering): Matt Amrofell, Northwestern University

2016 Symposium

DATE: Saturday, April 9th, 2016

LOCATION: The Museum of Science and Industry - 5700 S Lake Shore Dr. Chicago, IL 60637

Email a current member of the 2015-2016 Inter-School Board if you have any questions.

View the 2015 Symposium Abstract Booklet